List of Countries in South America

January 10, 2024
List of Countries in South America

Introduction to South America

South America, a continent known for its diverse landscapes, cultures, and rich history, comprises several countries with unique identities. This comprehensive guide provides an in-depth overview of the countries in South America, exploring their geographical features, cultural highlights, and historical significance.

South American Countries


  • Capital: Brasília
  • Fun Fact: Home to the Amazon Rainforest, Brazil is the largest country in South America and one of the world’s most biodiverse nations.


  • Capital: Buenos Aires
  • Fun Fact: Renowned for the tango, Argentina boasts the stunning landscapes of Patagonia and the Andes mountains.


  • Capital: Bogotá
  • Fun Fact: Colombia is a megadiverse country with diverse ecosystems, including the Amazon Rainforest and Andean mountains.


  • Capital: Lima
  • Fun Fact: Peru is home to Machu Picchu, an ancient Incan citadel and one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.


  • Capital: Caracas
  • Fun Fact: Angel Falls, the world’s highest uninterrupted waterfall, is located in Venezuela’s Canaima National Park.


  • Capital: Santiago
  • Fun Fact: Chile is one of the longest countries in the world, stretching from the Atacama Desert to the southern tip of Patagonia.


  • Capital: Quito
  • Fun Fact: The Galápagos Islands, part of Ecuador, played a crucial role in Charles Darwin’s theory of evolution.


  • Capital: Sucre (constitutional), La Paz (executive and legislative)
  • Fun Fact: Bolivia is home to the Uyuni Salt Flat, the largest salt flat in the world.


  • Capital: Asunción
  • Fun Fact: Paraguay is a landlocked country with a unique history, including the Jesuit Missions, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


  • Capital: Montevideo
  • Fun Fact: Uruguay is known for its progressive policies and is one of the most LGBTQ+ friendly countries in South America.


  • Capital: Georgetown
  • Fun Fact: Guyana is the only English-speaking country in South America and is known for its diverse ecosystems.


  • Capital: Paramaribo
  • Fun Fact: Suriname is the smallest country in South America and has a rich cultural heritage influenced by Dutch, African, and Indigenous cultures.

French Guiana

  • Capital: Cayenne
  • Fun Fact: As an overseas department of France, French Guiana is part of the European Union and uses the euro as its currency.

Fun and Interesting Facts

  • The Amazon Rainforest, often called the “Lungs of the Earth,” spans across Brazil, Peru, Colombia, and other South American countries.
  • The Andes mountain range is the longest mountain range in the world and runs through several South American countries.

Commonly Asked Questions

How many countries are there in South America?

There are 12 countries in South America.

What is the largest country in South America?

Brazil is the largest country in South America and the fifth-largest in the world.

Which South American country speaks Dutch?

Suriname is the only South American country where Dutch is the official language.


From the vibrant rhythms of Brazil to the historical treasures of Peru, each South American country offers a unique tapestry of experiences. This guide provides a comprehensive glimpse into the richness and diversity that define the continent’s cultural and geographical landscape.

Lewis Wright
Latest posts by Lewis Wright (see all)

Lewis Wright

Lewis Wright, the intrepid Global Explorer behind this site, is a seasoned adventurer and storyteller with a passion for uncovering the world's hidden gems. With a keen sense of curiosity, Lewis shares captivating tales of exploration, cultural discoveries, and breathtaking landscapes. His site serves as a virtual compass for fellow wanderers, offering insights, tips, and inspiration for traversing the globe.

List of Countries in Latin America
Previous Story

List of Countries in Latin America

List of Countries in North America
Next Story

List of Countries in North America

Don't Miss