Site icon

List of All Counties in Alabama

List of All Counties in Alabama

Introduction to Alabama Counties

Alabama, a state with rich cultural heritage and diverse landscapes, is divided into counties, each with its own unique character. In this guide, we explore the complete list of counties in Alabama, shedding light on their history, notable features, and interesting facts.

List of Alabama Counties

History and Significance

Alabama’s county system has roots in its territorial period and subsequent statehood, with counties playing a crucial role in local governance and administration.

Fun and Interesting Facts

Commonly Asked Questions

How many counties are there in Alabama?

Alabama has a total of 67 counties.

Which county is the most populous in Alabama?

Jefferson County, with Birmingham as its county seat, is the most populous county in Alabama.

Are there any ghost towns in Alabama counties?

Yes, several counties in Alabama contain ghost towns, reflecting the state’s historical development and changing economic landscapes.


Alabama’s counties, each with its own distinct identity, contribute to the state’s rich tapestry of history and culture. From the urban centers to the rural landscapes, exploring the counties offers a diverse and fascinating journey through the Heart of Dixie.

Exit mobile version